Celebrating 10 Years, The Alliance Of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) Announces This Year’s 2016 EDA Award Winners

Moonlight” Leads With Seven EDAs Including Best Film, Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay And Best Supporting Actor

Ava Duvernay Takes Three Awards In The 10th Annual AWFJ Year End Awards

The women have voted! The Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the tenth annual AWFJ EDA Awards. This year AWFJ presents the EDA Awards in 25 categories, divided into three sections: the standard ‘Best Of’ section, the Female Focus Awards and the irreverent EDA Special Mention awards—including Actress Most in Need of a New Agent and the AWFJ Hall of Shame Award.awfjlogo2014

The Alliance Of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ), a not-for-profit corporation, is an international association of professional female movie critics, reporters and feature writers working in print, broadcast and online media, dedicated to raising the volume on women’s voices in the film community by broadening opportunities for women who write about film and supporting films by and about women – both in front of and behind the cameras – through intra-group promotional activities, outreach programs and by presenting the EDA awards in recognition of outstanding accomplishments (the best and worst) by and about women in the movies.

The AWFJ presents the EDA Awards to honor women’s achievements in front of and behind the cameras. In addition to the annual end of the year awards, AWFJ presents EDA Awards for Best Female-Directed Films at select film festivals, including IDFA, Whistler Film Festival, DOXA. Edinburgh Film Festival. St. Louis International Film Festival and others. The EDAs are named in honor of AWFJ founder Jennifer Merins mother, Eda Reiss Merin, a stage, film and screen actress whose career spanned more than 60 years. A dedicated foot soldier in the industry, Eda Reiss Merin was one of the founders of AFTRA and a long standing member of Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).moonlight_ver2

In the ‘Best Of’ section, this year’s big winner is “Moonlight“, garnering EDA Awards in seven categories, including Best Film, Best Director for Barry Jenkins, Best Screenplay (Adapted) for Jenkins, Best Actor in a Supporting Role for Mahershala Ali, Best Ensemble Cast, Best Cinematography and Best Editing.fences

Filmmaker Ava DuVernay won three EDAs for Best Documentary for “13th,” Best Female Director for “13th” and Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Film Industry for 13th and for raising awareness about the need for diversity and gender equality in Hollywoodmanchester_by_the_sea_ver2

Manchester By the Sea” won two EDA Awards for Best Actor for Casey Affleck and Best Screenplay (Original) for Kenneth Longergan.


In the EDA Special Mention Categories, Annette Bening and Isabelle Huppert tied for the Actress Defying Age and Ageism Award, while Huppert was honored the Bravest Performance Award for “Elle.” Jennifer Aniston won the Actress Most in [Dire] Need of a New Agent for “Mother’s Day” and “Office Christmas Party.”

This year has brought heightened awareness of the impact movies and cinema culture have on setting our social norms,” states EDA AWARDS and AWFJ founder and film critic Jennifer Merin. “The need for gender parity and greater diversity in the movie industry is patently clear. These goals are fundamental to AWFJ’s mission and core values. I’m thrilled that in our 10th anniversary awards season AWFJ members voted to honor such a diverse array of talent representing such a broad spectrum of perspectives, making the 2016 EDA Awards particularly relevant at a time when art — and film, in particular — must be the vanguard of social progress.”

Here’s The Entire List Of This Year’s Winners:


These awards are presented to women and/or men without gender consideration.loving_xlg

  • Best Film: Moonlight
  • Best Director: Barry Jenkins Moonlight
  • Best Screenplay, Original: Manchester by the SeaKenneth Lonergan
  • Best Screenplay, Adapted: MoonlightBarry Jenkins
  • Best Documentary: 13thAva DuVernay
  • Best Animated Film: Zootopia Byron Howard, Rich Moore, Jared Bush
  • Best Actress: Ruth NeggaLoving
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Viola DavisFences
  • Best Actor: Casey AffleckManchester By The Sea
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Mahershala AliMoonlight
  • Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director: MoonlightYesi Ramirez
  • Best Cinematography: MoonlightJames Laxton
  • Best Editing: MoonlightJoi McMillon and Nat Sanders
  • Best Non-English-Language Film: The HandmaidenPark Chan-Wook

EDA FEMALE FOCUS AWARDS (These Awards Honor WOMEN only.)certain_women_xlg

  • Best Woman Director: Ava DuVernay13th
  • Best Woman Screenwriter: Kelly ReinhardtCertain Women
  • Best Animated Female (tie): Judy in ZootopiaGinnifer Goodwin/Moana in MoanaAuli’i Cravalho
  • Best Breakthrough Performance: Ruth NeggaLoving
  • Outstanding Achievement by A Woman in The Film Industry: Ava DuVernay – For 13th and raising awareness about the need for diversity and gender equality in Hollywood

EDA SPECIAL MENTION AWARDStwozeroth_century_women

  • Actress Defying Age and Ageism (tie): Annette Bening20th Century Women /Isabelle Huppert Elle and Things to Come
  • Most Egregious Age Difference Between The Lead and The Love Interest Award: Rules Don’t Apply Warren Beatty (b. 1937) and Lily Collins (b. 1989)
  • Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent: Jennifer AnistonMother’s Day and Office Christmas Party (Amen to that!!)
  • Bravest Performance: Isabelle HuppertElle
  • Remake or Sequel That Shouldn’t have been Made: Ben Hur
  • AWFJ Hall of Shame Award: Sharon Maguire and Renee Zellwegger for Bridget Jones’s Baby

More information about AWFJ, including the membership list, can be accessed at www.awfj.org or sending inquiries to awfjinc@gmail.com.