Target Announces Spring Collaboration with Victoria Beckham

Limited-edition collection reflects the charming, yet functional essence of the Victoria, Victoria Beckham womenswear line and includes the designer’s first foray into childrenswear

Target this past week announced its limited-edition spring collaboration with designer Victoria Beckham. Available April 9, 2017, at all Target stores and Target.com, Victoria Beckham for Target reflects the essence of the Victoria, Victoria Beckham line, including original designs and inspiration from iconic silhouettes, with apparel and accessories for women, girls, toddler and baby. The collaboration with Target also marks the designer’s first foray into the kids’ product category. Select pieces from the collection will be available for sale internationally via www.victoriabeckham.com.abv-projectbee-header

Victoria Beckham is an internationally-known businesswoman, fashion designer and style icon. Since launching in 2008 at New York Fashion Week, the Victoria Beckham brand has developed into a celebrated mainstay of the fashion industry. In 2011, following the success of her mainline collection, Beckham launched Victoria, Victoria Beckham, a free-spirited companion to the original Ready-to-Wear collection, offering softer silhouettes and a more playful fashion perspective. With each collection, Victoria adapts her own personal style to the needs and desires of the international women who swear by the label’s luxurious and flattering garments. (For more information on Victoria Beckham, please visit www.victoriabeckham.com.)

Victoria Beckham for Target, with more than 200 items featuring soft pastels, bright pops of color and pretty spring prints, is feminine and functional and reflects the designer’s commitment to quality craftsmanship. Ranging in price from $6-$70, with most items under $40, Victoria Beckham for Target will be offered in sizes XS-3X for women and NB-XL for girls, toddler and baby. Standout pieces include easy-to-wear dresses, rompers and playful tops and bottoms for women, with corresponding styles for girls, toddler and baby.

Working with Target has been a really exciting process, and this partnership allows us to share the essence of Victoria, Victoria Beckham with more people than ever before,” said Beckham. “I was inspired to create the Victoria, Victoria Beckham line when I was pregnant with Harper, and since its launch, the category has evolved into an established lifestyle collection. With both the line and my daughter turning five, I felt it was the perfect time to extend into a more accessible price point and to celebrate both milestones by opening the range up to include childrenswear for the first time.”

projectbeeportrait

Victoria Beckham is an internationally-known businesswoman, fashion designer and style icon. (Image courtesy of Target)

The Victoria, Victoria Beckham line, or “VVB” as it’s often called, is a lifestyle range incorporating all the pieces my customer needs in her wardrobe—at a more accessible price point,” continued Beckham. “I always describe VVB as the younger sister to the Ready–to–Wear. It’s a range that reflects what I think of as the more ‘playful’ side of my own style. The collections within VVB are fun and full of character, but always stay true to the refined brand spirit. The line of women’s and childrenswear that I have created with Target perfectly encapsulates the spirit of VVB and features some of the earlier silhouettes that the category originally became known for. From the outset of my brand, I have always designed clothes that I want to wear, and that’s exactly what I have done here, but this time there are also clothes that my daughter would love to wear, too!

She has also had a longterm interest in working with Target: “For a while now, I have been thinking how great it would be to work on clothes for a customer that either doesn’t want to pay or can’t pay designer prices. I loved the idea of opening the brand up to a wider audience and being able to share my vision with a broader customer base. So when Target—a company based on accessibility and inclusiveness—proposed a collaboration which combined all of these things, it was an easy decision to make. I have always said that the best way for me to learn about new areas is to work with an expert in that field. In order to do something well, you need to surround yourself with the right people, and the Target team members have been the right people for me. It has been such a pleasure working with their team. What they have provided me with is a really unique opportunity to connect with families across the U.S. I’m so excited for the months ahead, and for everyone to see a collection that I am really proud of.”

What was the biggest difference designing for kids for the first time compared to designing for women?Designing for children is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, so I was incredibly excited to be able to incorporate childrenswear into this collection. When working on it, I really felt I could tell a story and have fun with it—and I think the clothes reflect just how much fun I had designing them! Being a mother has helped me understand what’s important when it comes to the category. I have had years of learning that function is often just as important as form, and that children need to be able to feel comfortable and free in what they wear. For me it was really all about finding a balance between the fun elements and the real-life functionality of a garment.”

The Target company is equally excited about working with Beckham. Victoria Beckham is synonymous with impeccable style, and she’s known around the globe for her distinct point of view as a designer,” said Mark Tritton, executive vice president and chief merchandising officer, Target. “It’s been incredibly exciting to see how Victoria’s brand has evolved over the years, and we are thrilled that Target’s guests will be a part of that journey with this latest must-have collaboration.”

 

